TL;DR
Play games on Amazon Luna for your next adventure, included with Prime
- A rotating selection of games, no download needed
- Play on TV, laptop or phone
- Fast, free delivery for your gear, too
Apple’s online store limits iPhone Duo orders to two devices per customer ahead of the foldable phone’s Friday launch. CNET confirmed the cap in a test order; how the limit will be applied in stores, and how long it will remain, is not yet clear.
Apple is limiting purchases of its iPhone Duo foldable to two devices per customer in its online store ahead of the phone’s Friday launch, a restriction that comes as preorder delivery estimates stretch into late January. CNET encountered the cap while attempting to add more than two phones to an order; Apple’s checkout message said customers must reduce the quantity before proceeding.
The Apple Store displayed a message stating, “A maximum of 2 iPhone Duo can be purchased per customer.” The restriction was confirmed in a checkout attempt reported by CNET, following an earlier report by MacRumors. The cap applies to the number of phones in an Apple Store customer’s order; the available information does not establish whether Apple is also tracking separate orders to enforce a per-person limit across multiple transactions.
CNET reported that its estimated delivery date for an order containing two devices was Jan. 25 at the time of publication. Preorders were otherwise described as back-ordered until the end of January. Apple was also expected to have limited in-store stock for Friday’s launch, though the amount available was not specified. The report said customers seeking a launch-day unit might face overnight lines, but it did not confirm store-by-store inventory or queue arrangements.
Customers looking to order more than two phones could add multiple iPhone Duo devices to carts at Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and Best Buy, CNET found. Those purchases require signing up for a carrier line of service, and the report said preorder delivery estimates at those retailers were also delayed until the end of January. The availability of multiple units in a cart does not establish that every customer can complete a purchase for more than two.
Launch watch · Apple Store policy
Apple limits iPhone Duo purchases to 2 per person
A checkout cap meets delayed preorder estimates ahead of Friday’s launch. The store rule is confirmed for an order; its reach across stores and separate transactions remains unclear.
01 / What the cap means
A limit at checkout, with boundaries still unknown
CNET confirmed the restriction while trying to add more than two iPhone Duo devices to an Apple Store order. The checkout required the quantity to be reduced before proceeding.
Two in an order
Apple’s online store displayed a maximum of two devices per customer in the reported checkout attempt.
Across transactions
The report does not say whether Apple tracks separate orders to enforce a per-person cap across purchases.
In-store enforcement
Friday store stock may be limited, but the report did not confirm whether the online rule applies in person.
“Please adjust the total quantity of iPhone Duo in your order before checking out.”
Apple Store message, as reported by CNET02 / Buying routes
More units may mean a different route—or a later wait
CNET found multiple devices could be added to carts at carrier stores and Best Buy. Cart availability does not guarantee that every buyer can complete a larger purchase.
| Purchase route | More than 2 in cart | Conditions & timing | What remains uncertain |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Store online | × Capped | Checkout message set a two-device maximum; two-phone estimate showed Jan. 25. | Separate-order tracking and when the rule might end. |
| Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile | ✓ Cart allowed | Purchase requires signing up for a carrier line; estimates were delayed to late January. | Whether all buyers can complete orders above two. |
| Best Buy | ✓ Cart allowed | Multiple devices could be added; reported delivery estimates were delayed to late January. | Final order availability and current delivery timing. |
| Apple retail stores | ? Unclear | Limited launch-day stock was expected, with no amount specified. | Store-by-store inventory, queues, and enforcement of the cap. |
03 / The launch timeline
What buyers can watch next
Check current delivery estimates and store stock directly; reported dates can change.
The launch may clarify in-store availability and how the order limit works in practice.
Watch how quickly stock sells through and whether Apple changes its rule or delivery estimates.
Actual sales and the foldable’s market share remain unconfirmed; projections are not results.
04 / Market context
Apple enters an established foldable field
The report describes iPhone Duo as Apple’s first foldable, joining a category where Samsung and Motorola have competed since 2020. Google entered with Pixel Fold in 2023; Huawei and Xiaomi have also released foldables, though the report says their devices have not been widely sold in the U.S.
Projected share of foldable phone market
IDC forecast cited in the report. These are analyst projections, not confirmed sales or market-share results.
05 / Open questions
Availability is the story to follow
A purchase cap and delayed estimates are consistent with constrained availability, but they do not establish demand levels, Apple’s reason for the rule, or the scale of launch inventory.
Apple has not given a reason for the cap or a date when it may end.
Store and retailer stock levels, queue plans, and store-by-store availability were not specified.
Early reviews and preorder delays do not show how demand will hold after launch.
Order Caps Amid Limited Launch Stock
The purchase limit matters to customers hoping to buy several devices at launch, whether for a household, a business or resale. With Apple’s stated two-phone cap and late-January delivery estimates, people seeking more than two units may need to use a carrier or retailer, accept a later delivery, or wait for stock to improve. Carrier purchases also involve a service-line requirement, so they are not necessarily an equivalent alternative for every buyer.
The restriction also arrives as Apple enters the foldable-phone market with its first such device. A cap alongside delayed preorder estimates is consistent with constrained availability, but it does not by itself establish the scale of demand, the reason Apple set the limit or how much inventory the company has. Those details matter when interpreting early sales interest and any forecasts about the phone’s effect on the broader foldable category.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Apple Enters the Foldable Market
The iPhone Duo is described as Apple’s first foldable phone, entering a category in which Samsung and Motorola have competed since 2020. Google joined with its first Pixel Fold in 2023, while Huawei and Xiaomi have also released foldable phones, though the report says those devices have not been widely sold in the United States.
The report cited an International Data Corporation forecast that the Duo could account for 31% of the foldable share of the phone market by year-end, rising to 40% in 2027. Those figures are analyst projections, not confirmed sales results. CNET also reported positive early reviews, while noting that the device has drawbacks associated with a first-generation product. Neither early reviews nor preorder delays establish how demand will hold up after launch.
Apple has imposed purchase limits during past launches. CNET recalled that the original iPhone was limited to two per order in September 2007, with the cap later raised to five by the holidays. In 2012, Apple limited iPhone 5 preorders to two per customer. Those precedents provide context for the current rule but do not show how long the iPhone Duo restriction will last.
“A maximum of 2 iPhone Duo can be purchased per customer. Please adjust the total quantity of iPhone Duo in your order before checking out.”
— Apple Store checkout message, as reported by CNET
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Store Limits and Inventory Remain Unknown
Apple has not provided, in the reported details, a reason for the two-device purchase cap or a date when it might end. It is also not confirmed whether the same rule will be enforced for in-store purchases on Friday, whether separate online orders can bypass the checkout cap, or how Apple will handle customers attempting to buy from multiple locations.
The number of devices available at Apple stores and participating retailers remains unspecified. Delivery estimates and reports of back orders describe the situation at the time of publication and can change. The cited market-share figures are forecasts, while actual sales, sustained customer demand and the foldable’s eventual share of the market remain unconfirmed.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Friday Launch Will Test Availability
The next immediate milestone is the iPhone Duo’s Friday launch, when in-store availability and the practical reach of Apple’s order limit may become clearer. Customers should check current delivery estimates and store inventory directly, since the reported dates and stock conditions may change. Carrier and retailer listings may offer another purchase route, but buyers should account for the required service line and any updated delivery timing.
Further evidence will come from how quickly launch inventory sells through and whether Apple changes its purchasing rule or delivery estimates. The report does not provide confirmed sales figures or a timeline for updated market forecasts, so the longer-term effect on foldable-phone competition remains to be seen.
Source: CNET
smartphone screen protectors for foldables
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How many iPhone Duo phones can a customer order from Apple?
Apple’s online store displayed a limit of two iPhone Duo devices per customer when CNET tried to add more than two to an order.
When does the iPhone Duo launch?
The reported launch date is Friday. The report did not give a calendar date.
When were Apple Store preorders expected to arrive?
At the time of CNET’s report, an order for two phones showed an estimated delivery date of Jan. 25, and preorders were described as back-ordered until the end of January. Estimates may change.
Can buyers order more than two iPhone Duo phones elsewhere?
CNET found that Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and Best Buy allowed multiple devices to be added to carts. Those purchases require a carrier service line, and the reported delivery estimates were also delayed until the end of January.
Will Apple enforce the two-phone limit in stores?
The report expected the limit might also apply in stores, but in-store enforcement was not confirmed. Apple store inventory and how the rule will work across separate orders were also unclear.
Source: CNET
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
